sexual assault of a minor defense attorney
wisconsin sexual assault of a minor child crimes
Sexual assault of a minor child is frequently charged in the state of Wisconsin. All police reports involving a sexual assault and a minor must be investigation according to Wiscosnin's statutory laws. If any evidence exists to suggest that a minor has been sexually assault, police will make an arrest, and the district attorney will bring charges. What happens between the police report and the charges being filed can be impacted by your criminal defense attorney.
For example, two teens dating that decide to have sexual relations can still result in sexual assault charges, and because they are under the legal age (18 years) to give consent, the charge could be for sexual assault of a minor child. That is perhaps the most frequently charged minor sexual assault type of crime.
In addition to the crimes listed below, an adult can be charged for failing to prevent sexual assault or assaults of a minor child.
1st degree sexual assault of a minor child
Sexual assault of a minor child in the first degree occurs if a minor child is sexually assault by another person. A minor is under the age of 13 years for purposes of Wisconsin first degree sexual assault laws.
First degree sexual assault of a minor of a Class B felony offense, punishable by up to 60 years in a state prison. Repeated offenses can increase the penalty.
2nd degree sexual assault of a minor child
Sexual assault of a minor child in the second degree occurs when a child who is at least 13 years old, but not yet 16 years old has sexual contact with another person.
Second degree exual assault of a minor child is a Class C felony, punishable by up to 40 years in prison, fines of up to $100,000, or both. Repeated offenses can increase the penalty.
sexual relations & statutory rape
Often referred to as statutory rape, sexual relations with a person who is at least 16 years of age, but is not yet 18 years of age is also a crime. The term statutory rape originated from the fact that it was the statute that determined the age at which a person was still considered a minor. A minor cannot give consent. Any person under the age of 18 years is a minor. But if they are at least 16 years old, the criminal charges are reduced from the severe felony charges above down to a misdemeanor. Statutory rape is a Class A misdemeanor.
Free initial consultation
If you have been charged with sexual assault of a minor, the best course of action is to remain silent and ask for your attorney. Anything you say to police or investigators can and will be used to prosecute you for the crime. For a free initial consultation, please contact Bednarek Law Office.